chasing shadows again











{July 28, 2007}   in which I come home by going to the market

As always, walking through the market makes me whole again. This market was the Hilo Farmers’ Market and was complimented by a stroll along the Bayfront shops. The first stop of real interest (defined as where I bought something) was the tobacco shop where I found cloves (Djarum Blacks) and while looking for those found something else from Djarum (do they make things I don’t like? Not that I’ve ever tasted!) Spice Islands Cigarillos (baby cigars!). I have never had a baby cigar (or even a grown up cigar) but Jason likes cigars and I hear generally good things. However, I would have to try to come up with a way to not look like a goof with a cigar grown up enough to have babies. These tiny cigars that smell like clove and vanilla and lust just might be my compromise.

After the tobacco shop (Where I got carded! People – I’m 26!) I proceeded to the the market by way of about four other shops. I saw some gorgeous coffee and tea sets (I am a home things addict and I want a nest! Now! My baby clock has confused itself with the countdown timer on a bomb!) which I passed only because I both had not enough money with me and had nowhere to keep them.

At the market, everyone wanted me to come see their things! If I keep walking, I’m not buying, and they have this habit of meeting my eyes. This is my undoing. I HAVE to acknowledge everyone who meets my eyes. I look. They look. I smile. They smile. I nod. They say hi. Now it’s escalated and I’ve already had to stop walking so I might as well look at their stuff. I deliberately carry under $40.00 to the market, because if I carried $4,000.00 I would still spend it all. I am in love with all things handmade, set in silver, made of Thai silk, or offered by a real human being and not a full on advertising campaign. I cry when tiny, locally owned stores are bulldozed for Walmarts.

This time at the market I got delicious soap in vanilla (Gentle Earth Vanilla) which is heavenly. I also got orchid soap, which smells amazing. If you need soaps….check these people out! The only way they could be better is if they also had chocolate soap. Which I will suggest next I see them. Yes – see! Because I met the person who makes the soap. She smiled at me. Clearly her soap would smile if it could! Fox, you say, this is no way to judge soap. To which I can only respond, this soap is fantastic, just like I knew it would be.

I also picked up a chocolate scented orchid. This is also like heaven.

There was a time I loved floral scents, but lately, this last year or so, it’s vanilla, chocolate, and spice. That’s what I want to smell like. That is what I want people to remember me when they smell. Smell is very linked to memory. Strawberries and champagne is not me. Please god, let people not associate me with freesia (which scent I wore for years as a teenager, actually). I want to be rum and death by chocolate mousse. Vanilla. I’ll take Grand Marnier.

Hello universe. I think that your fox has come home to you.

Ashish says:

Now if every customer was like you, this world would be paradise for sellers! ๐Ÿ˜›

Vanilla soap? lol. I’m not that into soaps but I’ll never use the same scented/branded one after the first one, it gets boring! ๐Ÿ™‚



Ashish says:

By the way, whats a Kitsune? [I know wikipedia would have the answer but I prefer answers from real people… they add spice rather than a bland encyclopedia article!] ๐Ÿ˜€



fox says:

A kitsune is a mysterious creature that comes to us from Japan. I am far from an expert on them, but had to choose a nickname for G-mail and one of the men I was seeing had started referring to me as a kitsune. I chose that for the name because of its close association with foxes (fox has been my online name for years) and because I would not have twelve thousand people hitting me up to cyber for having kitsune in my name. When I came to WordPress, so did the kitsune name.

They are foxes that collect up to nine tails (the more the better!) and feature in Japanese (and other Asian) literature and oral traditions. As I write this I have the playful desire to create a video game to collect tails! They are portrayed in many different lights, but almost all have some trickster elements to their personality, and are pretty intelligent.

For your viewing pleasure I will put together a kitsune/fox link post, where you can find out more about them.



fox says:

And…there are few soaps I use repeatedly. I like trying new ones also! ๐Ÿ™‚



Ashish says:

Ah, and here I was thinking it was some sort of Hawaiian basket because of that title on your sidebar “Shop with a Kitsune”. So a kitsune is kinda like that NineTails pokemon from pokemon right? Kind of like a big fox with nine tails, a fire pokemon with mystique. I’d be glad if you can make that post… a new update! ๐Ÿ™‚



Molli says:

I LOVE walking through your market with you! These are some of my favourite posts of yours… I get vicarious colour and scent in my world ๐Ÿ™‚ Since I’m currently using vanilla soap and vanilla scented sea salts in my bath, I can only second you on your choices ๐Ÿ™‚ I can also thoroughly empathise with your sadness at what “big business” does to the people who so lovingly make all of their own products. That love gets right in there and, you’re right, these things would smile if they could. They exude love and care and humanity. Big business sells plastic. End of story.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
