chasing shadows again











{June 14, 2007}   Hello Universe, if you have a minute—

—please stop by and answer this question from Tanae, concerning sexuality and religion, and a gray area where they intersect. Question (snipped) is below:

But there’s one problem… He’s gay.

Does his sexual preference automatically erase everything that I have said about him?? Is he going to hell because of who he has fallen in love with?? Is it okay for him to be in an open relationship with his dude and not be ashamed even in the church?? I want to know what everyone thinks about this… so comment.

I very much admire her for having the courage to open that question in so personal a way. If I can come up with a response that seems appropriate (I may have walked away from the Christian church with a bit of venom, and my initial few aborted responses have sounded slightly accusatory toward Christianity in general) I will respond.  Until I can manage a more delicately phrased reply, the extent of my help will be to put her qusetion here and hope that that will help her get a few more responses.

Thank you to all of you who go there and reply.

Molli says:

Thanks for drawing my attention to this post, fox 🙂 I’ve since subscribed to Tanae’s feed which I should have done long ago, in order to keep better track of her postings. I responded to her question there.

The fact that we can still have such dilemmas in this day and age makes me both cross and sad. The world has changed into a place where one can be criminally prosecuted for racial, religious and sexual discrimination and yet, there’s a massive community still throwing stones at people because of who they fall in love with. Apologies if I offend the entire Christian world in saying this, but where is the love, tolerance, compassion and humanity in that?

On a more tongue in cheek note, perhaps someone should hire “Queer Eye For The Straight Guy” to give the church a makeover 🙂



Ashish C. says:

It’s the deeds that count, its the person that matters. In my opinion he’s better than many folks. Sexuality doesn’t count – its HIS decision to do whatever he wants, his own life. For my part, he’s as good as anybody. 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
