chasing shadows again











{June 10, 2007}   this morning the coffee comes after the Walmart run

Secrets, secrets, secrets….

People seem to me as defined by the things they don’t speak as by the things that they do.

This week I am especially touched by this card, because it very much echoes one of the main reasons that I fell so deeply and so quickly enchanted by Postsecret.

Molli says:

Yes, that’s a good one! I don’t know if I told you earlier, but one of my friends, D., got me onto PostSecret quite a few years ago. Back then, they left all of them postcards up for all to see. I guess that was before they started selling them in books. At any rate, I printed one of them out and it still sits on one of my book shelves to this day. It’s “I still love you” written into a cement pavement. It just seemed utterly perfect to me, riddled with metaphor and entirely apt at the time… and still now.

Anyway, I just thought I’d share that tidbit of information in return for you putting me back onto this wonderful site with your Sunday morning postings ๐Ÿ™‚



fox says:

You are very welcome. I can’t inagine having not found out about them. I have one of the books, which, once I have people again and a place of my own, will live on my coffeetable with pens so that people can add their notes or their secrets. Because I’m all crazy like that. ๐Ÿ™‚



Molli says:

* gasps * Inviting people to deface a book?????

Yes, I’m all anal and I couldn’t do that… I think it’s magnificent that you can and a PostSecrets book is just the perfect place for it, isn’t it? What a wonderful idea. Who knows, maybe I’ll learn to loosen up if I hang around long enough! ๐Ÿ™‚ That really is a grand idea, fox. I hope you get your own place again very soon so that you can act upon that thought – it’s a very good one indeed (or did I already say that?)



fox says:

*chuckles* Well, if you wanted a similar thing, you could slip index cards or postcards or bits of paper between the pages with secrets.

I have “defaced books” since one of my college professors taught me to. The margins of even my novels now have notes, highlights, observations. And I have lent them out to have them returned with further obserations, notes, and resonses not only to the novels but to my writing. Don’t think of it like a book, books are static and often kinda aloof. Think of it as a conversation….

Besides, Frank “defaced” my book with the first note, though I believe conventionally we call that an autograph. *chuckles* So nyah! ๐Ÿ˜› He started it!

And here’s hoping on the place. If I can get it set up by December, I can likely have a live in girl (as regardless, it looks like she moves in December). So…there will be many cookings, books to deface, and pink umbrellas for girly drinks. The girl, you see, she likes pink. I am learning to find ways to love this color. Like easing into a pool that is very cold. I don’t jerk my toes back out now, and I’ve made it down a step or two.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
